African Dress Code

South West Govs agree on border closure over COVID-19

South West Govs agree on border closure over COVID-19 2h

S’West govs have duty to protect citizens

Governors of the six South West states of Ekiti, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Osun and Oyo have agreed to close all entry points to the region with a view to curbing spread of COVID-19.

The Governors also made the wearing of face masks compulsory in all the states as a way of tackling the pandemic.

This was contained in a statement signed by Ondo State Governor and Chairman of the South West Governors’ Forum, Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, at the end of the virtual meeting of the forum.

The Governors also agreed to dissolve the Board of Directors of ODUA Investment Limited with immediate effect.

The statement said the Group Managing Director should take charge of the conglomerate affairs pending the constitution of a new Board.

According to the statement: “That the entry points of our six States be closed forthwith to contain the spread of COVID-19 pandemic.

“That the state Governors agreed that people involved in essential services or dealing in medicine, water and consumable items in particular traders and market men/women should endeavour to wear nose masks while outside plying their trade to minimize the spread of the deadly virus.

“The Governors further agreed that wearing of nose masks will be made compulsory for everybody coming out of their homes effective from Friday 24th April, 2020 in their respective States.”

Related posts

The Machines Are Learning, and So Are the Students

Astrid Kana

We?re considering selling off some assets to raise money for infrastructure – Kogi government

Astrid Kana

Nigerian MSMEs suffer negative impact of COVID-19

Astrid Kana

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy